Pets on Quilts 2014

Pets On Quilts Show 2014

Lilypad Quilting is holding the annual Pets On Quilt Show again. It should be a very fun event.
Here is my entry for the dog themed quilt category.  The quilt is called Pug.  He was sketched on canvas and then lots of freehand cut scraps were layered over this.  The background is pieced.  Then the dog was thread painted and the inner background  free motion stippled.  He was bound and then a second boarder was added.  The background is covered in free motion stitching of dog bones.
dolores-fegan-3-1-0
Some close ups

DSCN2032

DSCN2034     DSCN2036

I will be having a small give away.  The winner will receive a Cool Neck Tie for their dog.  When the Cool Neck Tie is soaked in water, the crystal granules absorb the water, expand, and turn into a crystalline gel. The cotton fabric absorbs water from the gel, then the water evaporates for a cooling effect. Cool Neck Ties stay cool and moist for hours due to the crystal’s water-retaining properties.     I will just need to know if you have a small, medium or large size dog. You may also suggest a color you like.   And if you don’t have a pet pooch they are great for people too.

Have fun!

31 thoughts on “Pets on Quilts 2014

    • No, I just decided to try my hand at sketching dogs. This was the second one I did. This weekend I photographed, with the owners permission, dogs at a local arts festival. Can’t wait to have time this fall to work on them.

      Like

  1. Oh my goodness Dolores! I thought I was looking at a photo of a pug. To draw this would be amazing – the fact that you’ve thread painted Pug just leaves me AWE of your artistic talent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

