Hummingbirds or Honey Bees

Too day I came home from church to find my back porch hummingbird feeder covered in honeybees.  They were all over the base and many had gotten trapped in the bottle.  I carefully unscrewed the base and set it down so I didn’t disturb the bees.  Then I tipped the bottle up right and the bees flew out.   They surrounded the empty feeder for at least an hour.   I did swat a yellow jacket that was aggravating the honey bees.  Thankfully the hummingbirds were happily feasting in the front yard from my second feeder.

DSCN3515 DSCN3519 DSCN3518

2 thoughts on “Hummingbirds or Honey Bees

  1. Dolores, I had this happen several times over the summer in my hummingbird feeder. I was sad to see the honeybees drowned in the sugar water! We can’t afford to lose any honeybees!! I don’t know the answer but I wish someone would tell us how to keep them out of the feeders.

    Like

Leave a Reply

