Fairy of Eagle Nebula

Could not decide what to do for my color challenge quilt so chose the Fairy of the Eagle Nebula to work with.  Spent most of yesterday trying to get parallel on my mac so I could reinstall Paint Shop Pro.  After several hours we got parallel up and running.  Now My PSP disk won’t load.

Here is the original NASA picture and my blue version after tweaking it so it would be in the cerulean shades I drew for the challenge.  Here is my color scale and a printed copy.

.                           205946main_eaglefairy_hst_big    eaglefairynebula_blues_edited-1   IMG_2520

Next to choose the fabrics.  I am using my original choice of 7 Kona cotton blue fabrics.  Then I chose some others to help create the cloud effects.

IMG_2523     IMG_2522

I am doing this one with french fuse.  I cut all the pieces and layer them on the french fuse and use a glue stick and regular fusible for edges or pieces that lay on top.  I’ve got my original design traced in marker and retraced on freezer paper.  The green dots represent where I will add crystals for stars/

IMG_2524    IMG_2518

The original goes under the french fuse.  I remove the finished pieces as I go.  I also cut large sections remove the freezer paper and then cut small in sets out of this piece and fuse them on top.

IMG_2525  IMG_2526   IMG_2527   IMG_2528

 I was using a foam board to pin it al up but realized I couldn’t iron on it.  So a mother delay while I made a paced ironing board from a piece of scrap wood that was 31″ by 40″.  I’ve transferred everything and am now ready to start fusing some of the pieces down.IMG_2529

Here’s my new Ironing surface.

My break is over so back to work!

Leave a Reply

